A Perfect Life

 

Sometimes we believe we have found the perfect life that we’ve dreamt of and that it’s destined to be this and no other way. We look past all the warning signs and dive right in; after all, we know this is it.
There was a time in my life where I thought I met the perfect guy. He was my dream guy and even though I saw his flaws, I was willing to look past them. My focus was on my impossible future with this guy. I didn’t think, it was for nothing he had acted the way I never imagined he would. At the time I thought I had real feelings for him. I even thought that I might hold on there because I truly know now that wasn’t the case, but then I thought I might Love him.  Looking back, it is much easier to see the many things he represented. He was either a road sign or a simple distraction or maybe both.
About fifteen years, I came to the realization that I couldn’t keep waiting for something that might not ever happen. Life was passing me by and I certainly wanted more out of it than all the waiting around I was doing. Here is the amazing thing once I let it go, things started falling into place. I got a promotion at my new job and with that came a chance to move to CA. Pretty awesome right? I believed that was where I wanted to be. That was where my life could begin, a place where I could pursue my dreams. It wasn’t until I was talking to a male friend about my potential future that I started to realize that my future was here in front of me, not right away but within a few months.
When I was talking to this friend, he posed a simple question; “Why do you want to move out there?”
While I enjoyed it out there on my vacation, I didn’t have friends out there and where this job offer was located, wasn’t anywhere near the place I truly wanted to be.  So, I thought about this golden opportunity. They were going to fly me out, we’d meet and then they were going to pay for me to move across the country. Awesome, but something didn’t feel right about it. While my friend’s words rattled around it was truly my gut that told me this was not the right choice.  So I passed and within two months the company was taken over by someone else and relocated. I realized at that time that I would’ve been left high and dry in CA with no job.
So moving forward in my life to roughly five months after I gave up on the alleged Mr. Right there was a major shift in my life. The friend who posed the question was becoming more than just a friend and on the same day I was promoted to supervisor, he gave me a key to his place. We had been dating for a few weeks when he did this. We still joke that it was a very Good Friday.  By the way that friend, who I was warned about when I took his hand and jumped over a cauldron that we would be bound together by doing so, well I didn’t care and jumped. I took a leap of faith and well we just celebrated our tenth Wedding anniversary this year.
So what does this have to do with Mr. Right? Well, when I was daydreaming about my future with Mr. Right, my future Hubby was a block away from me working at a different company. Had I not been looking at someone else there is a chance I would be celebrating my twentieth instead of tenth.  While there are more neat little things about the Hubby and me, I feel the need to bring this to a close.
Remember sometimes a person or something else is just a distraction. Something to keep you busy and maybe to keep you on your path, take the lesson from it and realize that if you’re feeling stuck you have the power to get yourself unstuck and move forward.
Have a fantastic day.
 Peace and Love,
Dauna
© 2016 copyright D.M. Needom, Readings by Dauna and ReadingsbyDauna@aol.com all rights reserved.
Leave a Reply

